Wolfie Mozart! Figaro! Figaro!

I treated myself to a wondrous movie about a man jealous of a childish composer with a funny laugh. It was funny because it made me laugh.

That alone doesn’t sound so captivating!

There I was seated on my living room couch, trying to find movies to watch. I was in my “experiment” mood, in which I was ready to watch any film that was neither too filthy or traumatizing.

I happened to be using Netflix and I was just ready to find something that would grab my attention for an hour and give me something to smile or write about. There was nothing! All was filth to my eyes! Then I noticed new movies had been added and there was A Clockwork Orange.

I watched five minutes and then I saw a girl about to be raped and BACK button was immediately pressed. I’m definitely not watching smut like that.

Then I came across the lovely Amadeus….

Not too smutty…not too traumatizing.

To be quite honest, before this film, I did not know what Amadeus was. I thought he was just a fictionalized musician.

I learned that this was a story told by a character who had enthusiastic dreams and put all his passion into something he was sadly not as good at. There was someone who he felt mocked his “mediocrity”. The genius known as Mozart.

Antonio Salieri is decrepit and suicidal and locked in an asylum after slitting his throat. A priest soon visits him and Salieri introduces us to the story of how Mozart came into his life and led him to ruin his own.

I thought I would also give this the BACK button after five minutes! Three hours long? I wasn’t in a much patient mood.

But the thing was that from the very start the film had a modern touch! People weren’t as sophisticated or serious. They were rather playful.

Why is Salieri in such a bad state? Well, since birth he had an innate passion for music. He vowed to God he would avoid temptation so he could get success and recognition as a reward. He did do well once he moved to Vienna and became a court composer for Emperor Joseph II.

That’s until Mozart showed up. Mozart was just…According to Salieri, he was the voice of God.

He admired the man and in scenes we could see every time he hears his music he is cathartic.

I could sort of sympathize with Salieri. I could understand wanting to be fully talented in the art I wish to pursue. And I could also understand jealousy.

Jealousy and envy are monsters. Ever since Mozart showed up, he could never extinguish the envious fires that burned within him. The more he tried to destroy him, the closer he got to him.

Now, Mozart. I love the character of Mozart! They’re supposed to be European and nearly all the actors speak with American accents. Mozart is loose, has energy in his expressions, and talks as freely as he likes. And there’s the laugh!

The thing was that he was equally passionate about music, but he wasn’t focused on being better than someone and destroying those who did better than him. He was a bit of a simpleton…but he did have a good heart. He was a child.

My eyes bulged open when I heard the longtime famous composer Mozart say, “Eat my shit.” Did he really say that? I’m pretty sure.

Then we have scenes of music and operas and I notice my feet are moving on the floor as I watch.

I just couldn’t stop watching. Salieri’s frustrations made me feel a bit sorry for him. Mozart sent by God…and with his music he laughs at Salieri’s mediocrity.

I would absolutely hate it if I were locked up after trying to slash my throat just because I ruined my life by being jealous. Jealousy is never good. That’s the moral of this film.

I think he should have just accepted the fact that maybe he wasn’t as good as Mozart, but was unique in his own way. He really stood out. However, when Mozart mocked him in a scene…That was just mean.

Mozart’s wife was authoritative, which got annoying in some parts, but she loved him.

Some of the best three hours I have ever spent!

A film with such length and it didn’t even lag…

This movie has such memorable quotes…My favorite lines coming from Salieri…F. Murray Abraham was just fit for the role. He gave the best performance as an old man.

I even want to see it again! It was that good! It was the most engrossing film I had ever seen dealing with classical music. It wasn’t too serious, too boring, or too dramatic.

It’s an oddball of a movie and it will remain in memory and heart for many years to come.

By God, how the film made me feel the ecstasy Salieri felt when he heard Mozart! I wish I could read music.

I have to confess that I do prefer Tchaikovsky. Now that man makes me feel.

Can the patron saint absolve me from mediocrity? I wish. The priest lad who asked for his confession should be grateful.

Avoid being prone to jealousy or you will enter a world of madness…Madness that doesn’t even help you creatively. Madness that consumes you.

Despite their differences, they really were best friends and thought highly of one another.

Wolfie Amadeus Mozart!

*Cue his laugh*

