The draft of this post apparently got deleted when this page refreshed after freezing.

Woody Allen is outstanding at his craft. I haven’t felt much like writing…nor have felt at my best…but sometimes a film can boost one’s inspiration.

I’m so used to Woody Allen’s comedies that I didn’t imagine there would be one like this. It still felt like his work but at the same time I admit it felt very Ingmar Bergman, but with a more feminine side.

I know I may be young to fully appreciate this movie, but you know what, by the end I felt like crying. But I couldn’t…because I wouldn’t let myself feel like the woman in this film. It made me analyze the attitude I have for my very existence and what has been the cause of the unhappiness I feel so often.

Being brainy isn’t everything. Knowing fully well the work of an artist or pursuing a higher degree won’t prove your satisfaction with your existence. You have got to let yourself be.

This woman worked hard for everything she strived for, but turning fifty years old made her realize how she had alienated others with her cerebral ego and failed to give herself the opportunity to actually feel the things that life gave her. There’s a big Wild Strawberries touch to this.

I need to give Gene Rowlands big-time praise because she felt so natural in this role. Her character seemed so proud of herself and would not bother to feel humiliated or depressed or dissatisfied. This actress also starred in Night On Earth, now that I remember.

That’s what I generally meant to say in the post that got deleted. I also want to say I loved the use of flashback. Like In Wild Strawberries, Marion would herself be in her memories like Isak.

A long-haired Mia Farrow was a nice sight.

I really loved this film. That’s all I’ve meant to say.

