This is very sweet from her part.

image

But the bad times were always there. One of the most difficult was in 1947, when I learned of the death of Ernst Lubitsch. Through all the years since we first started together in pictures, we had remained close friends. The geographical distances that often separated us had done nothing to lessen the very deep ties we felt. Both Ernie and I knew that no matter where we were in the world, a call for help from one of us would bring the other running. I have said all there is to say about Ernie as a director. He was a genius. Only now, with proper historical perspective, is the full extent and scope of his magnificent talent being completely appreciated. Every month brings new critical evaluations and film festivals of his work. I am very proud to have been a part of that work. The film world misses him–so do I.

– Pola Negri, Memoirs of a Star

