I love Lotte Lenya’s voice! And I adore how she sang this song. I want to play it in my wedding (if I ever do wed) when I dance with my spouse…

I’m sure most people have heard The Doors’ majestic cover of this song (they changed a verse)….Of course, that one is just fucking incredible, as it is part of really the nearly finest debut album of all time.

Well, the song was first a poem by Bertolt Bretch (no wonder Jim Morrison wanted to sing it…) and later turned into a song by Kurt Weill, who was Lenya’s husband at the time.

Lenya had a different vocal range from what I hear from other German singers. I remember her as the lady gigolo pimp for Vivien Leigh in The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone and I just sigh and laugh.

WE NOWWWWWWWW MUST SAY GOOD NIIIIIGHTTTTT……

tumblr_n6gd6wgcDR1qm2bmho1_1280
Oh, don’t vask why.
