At one point in my life, I thought I would never see Greta Garbo cry. That was until I saw Camille yesterday.

“No,” thought I, “she’s not really crying. She’s too stoic for that.” I suddenly then took notice of a black stain under the lower end of her eye socket. It was her mascara staining her face with a tear. She was sobbing with such sentiment that I was awed for the whole duration of a minute. Then she lowered her head down a bit and I observed a tiny teardrop falling from her face. Hell, Garbo cried! What a woman! They should have put a slogan for the movie advertisements saying, “Garbo cries!” Why should I be appalled at her display of a simple human emotion? I don’t know….she just cried.

Screw you all. I cried.

But that isn’t everything. She made me cry. The ending was unacceptable sorrow for my state. I was weeping; actually feeling water in my eyes. O’ God, poor Robert Taylor. He loved her so much! I’m not telling the ending. Go watch the movie or be a cheat and read its plot summary.

Garbo’s acting positively opened my eyes when it came to watching this picture. She was good at imitating the doom that one can have in his eyes. She had the best sayings, as her wont, and I was obliged to write them down in my journal.

Perhaps it’s better if I live in your heart where the world can’t see me. If I’m dead, there will be no stain to our love.

I liked Taylor in here more than in Waterloo Bridge. He was more devoted to his leading lady. More amorous….that actually provoked tears to stream down my temples. But more credit for Garbo, yes? She poured her heart out in her profession by adding more stamina to her emotions. If she wanted to cry, she could. Why, she vicariously lived in her character! I fortunately fell in love with this film and with her performance. Miss Pittypat Hamilton was annoying as hell in this movie. Someone just get her her smelling salts to shut her up! And the Baron was a dick. He slapped Garbo in one scene. How I wanted to pierce my claws onto his flesh. Hey! This was directed by George Cukor. He was known for being a director who comprehended women well. I can see that he probably got on Garbo’s good side as he probably helped her be more emotionally flamboyant. Whatever he did, she did one hell of a job playing Marguerite.

Oh dear lord. Why?
