How unexpected this is. An admirable girl who runs the blog Chilly Milly (it’s an incredible blog full of writings that should be praised once read) has nominated me for the Liebster Award. I was a bit puzzled because I thought of my own blog as a diary of my thoughts and films I watch….and I didn’t think humans would actually set their eyes on it…Yet….I am happily flattered for this. This award is mainly for those who have just begun their blogging, want to get their message out there or have less than 200 followers. I am most grateful for the nomination. Thank you!

The Rules:

  • Link and thank the person who nominated your blog.
  • Answer the questions they asked you.
  • Pick eleven bloggers with less than 200 followers to nominate.
  • Ask them eleven questions.
  • Let them know by commenting on one of their posts.

Questions:

1) If you could convey a message to the people of your fellow generation, what would you say? 

Hmm….I think I might tell them to not meddle in a certain situation for too long. If it’s trouble; try to solve it fast. The more time you spend on it, the more you are likely to be inundated in its difficulties.

2) Of morals and principles, what is something you stand by steadfastly?

Dignity. I’d never let anything besmirch my way of being.
3) What is it that you detest the most?

Extremists. I am already troubled by my own personal affairs and here come some individuals who tell me what I do is unforgivable. No. I’m also not fond of concert crowds, screaming fans and migraines. Blasted migraines!
4) What are some of your greatest literary loves? 

My, what a question! My literary paramour of all time, who has been guilty of stealing my heart, is Edgar Allan Poe. Without him, I don’t know where I would be in my writing. I wouldn’t appreciate literature as much. Another one is Charles Bukowski. He makes me laugh. He’s always covering topics he dreads or about all the women he likes or all the alcohol he drinks. Of course! There is also Sigrid Undset. Kristin Lavransdatter introduced me to the wonderful world of archaic English. Well, that was because of its outdated translation. Because of that book, I am an antiquarian for all the literature that I buy. OH LORD! How could I have forgotten? Margaret Mitchell has been the only literary figure to have gotten me ahead. Gone With the Wind was the book full of instructions to help me become a writer comfortable with her own artistry.
5) When in need of an escape, where do you seek solace?

Movies. I watch loads and loads of old movies. I tend to write my novels and also in my journal. Silent films are usually my pals there to console me when I am in the need to remain solitary.
6) What is your opinion on the ways social media has influenced our modern day society?

I have an opinion that is sort of in-between with it being positive. I think it’s a great way to communicate and to help get your name out there. Sometimes humans take it too far because almost every single one of them that I’ve seen has a phone with a face glued to it. I get sad about it sometimes…yet it’s their own business.
7) What is a quote that you love most?

Ooh! “Saw through all your bars. Melt your cell today.” It’s from “Unhappy Girl” by The Doors. Not necessarily a quote….but I love quoting Morrison’s writings. What I love about it is that he’s trying to tell you to make an attempt to escape all those troubles that are imprisoning you. I think long and hard about his lyrics and how they relate to me.
8) If you could make one irrefutable change in the world today, what would it be?

I’d probably spread a message around the world telling them to stop romanticizing the importance of celebrities. They’re human creatures just like us.
9) What is your favorite sound in the world? 

Might be cliché and predictable for me but I have to admit that it is the music of my favorite band.
10) What is a characteristic you praise the most in a person?

The attributes that make them differ from the rest of some humans. Yes…something quirky about them.
11) What is a painting that captures your heart and soul the most?

I’m not big on paintings…but I really do like the painting by Tadeusz Styka of Pola Negri. It symbolizes the glamour and success a human can achieve of having. I can see myself like Pola (mostly because I want to be her) and my heart grows warm when I look at it.

Here are the people I am nominating:

 My Questions:

  1. What is your greatest passion for?
  2. What musician could you consider to have changed your life?
  3. What are your favorite films?
  4. If you had to go back in time, what famous icon would you be?
  5. Opinion on silent films?
  6. What will you never get tired of?
  7. What things would you do if you ever meet your idol (doesn’t matter if they’re dead or not)?
  8. Best film of 1939? Why?
  9. If a stranger handed you a suitcase full of hundreds of $100 checks, would you take them? If so, what’d you do with them?
  10. Top five albums?
  11. How do you think the world will be in a century?

All right. That’s done. I’m looking forward for such peculiar answers! These blogs are captivating and well-written. Give them a good old read. Ha, this was fun. Those selected are welcome to answer the questions…or not. Still, it’s fine! Have you all a fine day!

