Sunset Boulevard has got to be one the funniest comedies of all time. It’s obviously sad, if you look at it in its whole form, but Swanson has the best lines.

This could’ve been Pola Negri’s role. This could’ve been her big break after years of seclusion. Oh! I love Swanson in this film but she had Pola’s little ego!

Back to Swanson. I love how her voice ends with a long sound. She plays the former silent star who wishes for the ultimate comeback and for at least some love.

I have to agree with her in her criticism of the “talkie era”. The silents were far more exotic, more original and more mysterious. It’s more imaginative; as you can make their voices sound how you like in your head. The ladies were vamps; the lads were…just….lads. The silents were something unique and different in such an age. I assume it was a clever manner of cinematic expression. Of course, I like talkies, too…Except that I’m not a big fan of the 40s or 50s or 60s. Broads such as Rita Hayworth and Marilyn Monroe gained their fame….they don’t appeal much to me. Ladies like Pola Negri, for example, had beauty that wasn’t much pampered or exaggerated with falsity. Pola just wore her dark makeup and painted her nails red. These other ladies were more praised for their looks than for their acting. And their hair color wasn’t even real.

The role Pola Negri was meant to have.

The movie is funny as hell to me because this woman is so self-infatuated. She is demented in her own little world where everything is about her excellence and magnificence. This should have been Pola’s role.

I wish I could go back in time and convince her to take the role. Oh well. It would have been “Negri’s legendary comeback to movie pictures”. She’d be chasing Lubitsch as Norma did with Demille. Pola really was the greatest star of them all.

