I…for years now….have been allured by Vivien Leigh’s magnificence. When I saw Gone With the Wind as a thirteen-year-old maiden, my life changed. For starters, I couldn’t believe that women could be actually pretty like that. She had such great eyebrows…and the sassy smile in the barbecue was comical. Especially in this one!

I know all the lines to the movie; I can recognize the voices that speak them. I..have read the book twice (I’d read it more if I still could concentrate) and own five copies of it. One day, though, I shall own the 1936, May edition copy, with Margaret Mitchell’s signature inscribed on the first page. There is a Scarlett doll, posters, old pictures, a lunch box, magazines and more books. This is my favorite movie, in case you didn’t know. 

Well, anyway, aside of my adoration for this picture, I still have to get through the rest of Vivien Leigh’s filmography.

    Vivien Leigh movies that I’ve watched in my life so far: 
 
  • Gone With the Wind (1939) 
  • That Hamilton Woman (1941)
  • A Streetcar Named Desire (1951)
  • The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone (1961)
  • Waterloo Bridge (1940)
  • Caesar and Cleopatra (1945)
  • Anna Karenina (1948) 

I own a digipak of her early movies but I have not watched them yet because they have no subtitles. You see, Vivien was English and she spoke so fast, including Laurence Olivier. So, I must get to those soon.

 Vivien Leigh movies that I have not watched (some not all the way through): 
 
  • 21 Days (1940) 
  • Storm in a Teacup (1937)
  • Look up and Laugh (1935) 
  • Sidewalks of London (1938) 
  • Ship of Fools (1965)
  • The Deep Blue Sea (1955) 
  • Fire Over England (1937)
  • A Yank at Oxford (1938) 
  • Dark Journey (1937)

I have to yet still watch these. I own some of these films but have not finished them since I have so many other ones. I did not include her very first films such as The Village Squire and Gentlemen’s Agreement because I cannot find them anywhere.

At least she’ll be happy that I’m back to regularly watching her films and taking a break from Pola Negri.

